Skip to content

The Studio Unbound

October 14, 2009

Studio Unbound

For a long time I have been an social network sceptic. However, as I sat in the audience of #studiounbound lecture at Glasgow School of Art last week, my eyes were drastically opened by @redjotter , @rufflemuffin and @kateandrews.

The Studio Unbound is an initiative aiming to introduce students, graduates and educators to the creative power of social media and networking. I am proud to say that I was the offical ‘twitterette’ for the Studio Unbound ll.

The power of the internet is huge, so why not filter some of that power and use it to your advantage? Let people know your name/identity, let people know how you think and what you are thinking. People ARE interested. People WANT to listen. You have a voice, use it and let the world hear it. This is your opportunity to sell yourself and there are many ways to do so. You just need to be confident and believe that there is someone that wants to know.

“Designers should be storytellers. Don’t just show the shiny objects.”

Twitter, Flickr and your own blog can give you the platform to tell your story and let people see the ‘real’ designer behind the final outcome. I’ve always struggled with writing but I guess that that’s something I need to get over.

During the presentation, @redjotter promptly stated; “Designers write, end of.” A quick reality check of the design  world that I want to be a part of. The truth of the matter is that I have just set up this blog, and therefore am building the confidence to let people read what I have to say. I like so many designers feel like I have struggled with writing for a long time. But now I can see it’s importance, and therefore willing to try thanks to the support and guidance from #studiounbound.

I know many of the audience have been inspired to begin blogs and twitters, so please do say hello :)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 12:59 pm

    Great post Kate, there’s an interesting feature you may like to read from Eye Magazine – although speaking about Graphic Design, the post discusses the importance of storytelling http://blog.eyemagazine.com/?p=236

  2. November 9, 2009 4:59 am

    I don’t usually post but I enjoyed your blog a lot.

Trackbacks

  1. Studio Unbound lll calling all jewellers « Vanilla Ink
  2. Studio Unbound lll calls all jewellers « Redjotter

Leave a Reply

