Skip to content

Are jewellers playing catch up?

October 15, 2009

Just read a very interesting article on Eye Magazine Blog.

It is all about how to make yourself stand out from the ‘designer’ crowd. Storytelling. Showing people the process of how you got to your design solution. This is what will make you different. If your portfolio tells a story you are given your onlookers a part of you an lets them engage with you as a designer.

373549420_e5573e2f92

During my undergraduate my course was striving to be a ‘design’ course not a ‘making’ course yet in my assessments with my sketchbooks bulging and my exhibition creating a scene for my work, the lecturers went straight for the objects.  How they were ‘made’ not how they were designed. They barely glanced at my sketchbooks.  A bit of a contradiction I thought. The sketchbooks is where I told the story yet they were not interested.

When applying for craft fairs, competitions, etc all the panel are interested in are the ‘perfect’ pictures of your work. It’s frustrating especially when it’s the story that makes the piece. Is it just jewellery that is lagging behind?

6a00d834518e4769e200e54f13a5378833-800wi

Something needs to change but who’s going to listen? I wish that I could show my stories and have the panel see the worth in my work a little bit more. Panels should spend time trying to get to know the designer and that can only happen if they show a bit more of themselves.

I just hope that the jewellery world will catch up with the rest of the design industries. If there are any jewellers out there that judge differently and look for a designer/maker that tells stories, I would love to hear from you.

My comment on the article:

Very interesting post. I have recently graduated from Masters Course in design where they were pushing the designers to tell their story.

As a jeweller it is hard not to just show the shiny object at the end of a project. My work is all about storytelling so why not tell the story as well as showing the beautiful piece. I’m sure the customers would want to hear or see the story.

Maybe I’m the only jeweller that believes this, but I guess that is what will make me stand out from the crowd.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 2:19 pm

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

