Skip to content

Studio Unbound lll calling all jewellers

November 6, 2009

Last month I was part of the Studio Unbound II at Glasgow School of Art. Infact, I was responsible for tweeting the event from the audience. This time it’s happening in Duncan of Jordanstone in Dundee in the Jewellery Department, where I spend one day a week on a designer in residence post.

studio_unbound

I’m co-presenting alongside Lauren Currie and the notion worries me and excited me at the same time. Us jewellers are not so comfortable away from our workbenches but I’m no ordinary jeweller, I’ve done a Masters in Design, I should be able to do this no problem…right?

I know the audience will look to me for advice and guidance. The pressure is on. I empathise with the jewellery students  and understand the difficulties and pressures that face us in the ‘contemporary’ jewellery industry. Self promotion and determination are key and I hope to show the benefits of using social media tools to enhance your own profile based on my own experiences. There will also be other people from other design fields – Sarah Drummond and Kate Andrews – joining us via Skype to share their own experiences.

If you’re a jeweller studying in Dundee and you want to tap into the tools that are available to you and learn about its powers, then come along to room 5016 in the Matthew building on Monday 9th of November at 2pm, to find out more.

This is something that can’t be missed and will be a valued tool in anyones toolbox.

Please say hello .. I would love to chat to you :)

Leave a Reply

