Skip to content

A little help from my friends

January 3, 2010

It seems I am feeling a little lost…

Before Christmas I had a lot going on. I started a new job and I was creating a new collection for a craft fair. Whilst doing all this, trying to find the time to make 18 Christmas presents. I neglected my blog…..and now I’m scared again.


A friend in fourth year told me never to stop using my sketchbook. If you do, it is the hardest thing to get back into. In my year out of university I neglected my sketchbook and now, almost three years later. Trying to use a sketch book is very intimidating. My work consisted of sketchbooks throughout my jewellery course. I could never step foot into the workshop without having a resolved design planned and drawn out in my sketchbook.

Now I’ve lost the use of sketchbooks and desperately want to get back into them but the pages are too empty. I fear that this represents my thoughts, my ideas, my designs.

Is my blog empty too? Not using it has led me off the beaten track. My thoughts are all over the place, my goals are blurred, I need to get my structure back.

A good friend kept pushing me to write a post….but I never listened. Just like the friend in university and now I wish I had.

I’m not sure what has pushed me to write this post. I guess I had to overcome the fear and just write. It was hard for me to write this but I wanted to admit to my readers ( and myself ) that it is ok to feel like this sometimes …

What do you do when you feel like this? What would you like me to write about?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

