Skip to content

To manufacture or not?

January 7, 2010

I work for large jewellery company in Dundee that sells jewellery and watches. A customer said to me…

“It must be so hard for you being surrounded by such beautiful jewellery…?”

The short answer. No. The jewellery that fills the shop is manufactured rubbish! How can the public be fooled into thinking they are getting a ‘good buy?’ When I attend craft fairs I am constantly being criticised for my prices, mutters under their breath at how expensive it is. Now maybe I’m not attending the right events but it is still the general public that attend most of these fairs. The same public that are quite happy to hand me £329 for a 9ct gold, hollow, bangle!

How can we convince people that what we make is good quality jewellery? Jewellery made to your order, jewellery that can be completely unique to you, jewellery that comes with soul and  blood, sweat and tears. I just don’t understand.

How can I find the people that believe in the beauty of craftmanship?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 2:58 am

    Kate, I am loving this blog. What an amazing idea to create it. You just made me even prouder of being a Jewellery student. Thank you very much ! :)

    • January 9, 2010 6:57 pm

      Thank you so much for your comment Natalia.

      You just made me smile from ear to ear :) :)

      Keep reading and keep your comments coming.

      Kate x

  2. January 8, 2010 8:05 am

    I’m not sure people won’t think your jewellery isn’t good quality! I think the reason it might be difficult to find a market is because at the moment your market is ‘white middle class women’ (of a certain age) with a disposable income that allows them to spend more on quality contemporary jewellery.

    In the past I’ve also thought a lot about where to sell without seeming to be overly expensive but it’s a fine line whe it comes to ‘joe public’. Like you say they’ll tut at the prices, maybe even fling an insult or two but they don’t want to spend their hard earned cash on something they might feel they should get cheaper! They need educated about the differences between a unique piece of contemporary jewellery and massed produced tat!

    • January 9, 2010 6:55 pm

      I very much agree with the fact that they need educated. It is so hard to contend with the mass production of jewellery and the few people who do believe in true quality are few and far between.

      This is definitely something that I want to look at for my Designer in Residence exhibition. Trying to let the ‘joe public’ see how much work goes into one piece of jewellery. If you or anyone else has any suggestions or comments on what I hope to achieve, it is all welcome here.

      Thanks Dougie :)

    • January 9, 2010 6:56 pm

      I just re-read my post and think I may have insulted you, it wasn’t intentional, I’m a bit thick. Can I re-write the first sentence to say ‘I’m sure people will think your jewellery is good quality’ – virtual chocs and flowers to you!! Sorry

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention To manufacture or not? « Vanilla Ink -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

