Skip to content

VanillaInk has been in teacups

March 30, 2010

At the weekend Vanilla Ink took part in a vintage fair in Leslie in Fife. I prepared long and hard for the fair. I baked cakes, I made paintings, I made cards and I added a lot more jewellery to my existing stock. I planned my stall very carefully, I was going for a mad hatter’s tea party theme, in light of Alice in Wonderland. I worked my fingers to the bone!

The fair didn’t quite pay off but I can’t say I regret doing it. What I worked out that day that maybe that wasn’t the right market for my work. Finding out that market is quite difficult, you have to go through the bad before you reach the good because how would you ever know.

If I never went to ‘Gin in Teacups’ I would have been wondering what if? And the beauty of these craft fairs is that they are quite inexpensive to participate in, so if you don’t do well it’s not a huge loss but if you do then it’s a bonus.

Any exposure is good exposure no? People picked up my business card and I spoke to a few people and what I did sell, hopefully the people that bought them will act as advertisers on my behalf.

I guess my question would be, should I continue to participate in such events, where a lot of time an effort goes into or should I focus my efforts elsewhere?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. redjotter permalink
    March 31, 2010 11:26 pm

    Great post Kate.
    I don’ think it is a case of focusing efforts else where because as you said you don’t regret being part of this and you got something out of it BUT you didn’t get anywhere near the value you put in.
    It’s really tough to learn to say NO because we are ‘trained’ to grasp every opportunity, but you are in a different place now and when opportunities come your way I suppose you have to consider what VALUE can I add here? and what VALUE will I get from being part of it?
    It’s also about learning where you fit in and what you are really good at so you can go and look for opportunities or make them for yourself…
    It is something we all find really difficult so thank you for sharing your journey and please continue to do so. Love the pics and can’t wait for our next pot of tea together.
    L x

    • April 2, 2010 9:26 pm

      Hi Lauren,

      Thank you for your comment.

      I’ve been asked to take part in gin in teacups 2 and after a lot of debate, I’ve decided not to participate it in. As I feel that I didn’t get anywhere near the value that I put into it I thought it was best to cut my loses.

      I feel that my work is quite a niche market, so it’s just a case of narrowing that down and pin pointing the hot spots to sell to that particular grouping.

      It’s all part of the learning!

      xx

Leave a Reply

