Skip to content

Food for Thought

May 16, 2010

So the past few days I have been spending time in the big smoke. A Vanilla Ink field trip I’ve named it.

I’ve been doing research. Research on places that hold a resemblance to Vanilla Ink. I set up meetings with Craft Central, Cockpit Arts and Platform jewellery. My questions were prepared and I had a head filled with wonderment.

Nothing could prepare me for the amount of ‘stuff’ that would be whizzing around in my head afterwards. It has made me both nervous and excited, going through a mix of emotions over the three days.

I didn’t go into this naively. I know I still have a lot of work to do and the tricky questions that were fired at me I had answers too so I am a lot further down the line than I was 6 months ago. These meetings have highlighted the most important things that I have to start thinking about in order to get Vanilla Ink up and running.

So for now I have to eat, sleep and breath Vanilla Ink. Get the hard facts and evidence that Vanilla Ink is needed and wanted. Start putting the facts on paper, do my cash flows, write the business plan, get the show on the road.

The London trip has been insightful and has made me even more determined to make this work and make this my life. If I wasn’t Vanilla Ink I’m not sure what I’d be doing or where I would be.

Leave a Reply

