Skip to content

new beginnings…

October 28, 2010

So it is now three weeks into my new job. I have been teaching in the continuing education department at Dundee Uni, sharing my pearls of wisdom on the world of jewellery and how to make it.

I’m finding it a mix of emotions…it’s challenging but in such a good way, it’s frustrating but I find it’s testing me, which again is a good thing! I am constantly learning and pushing myself outside my comfort zone and that can only be a good thing!

Conclusion…I’m enjoying my new job!

It’s helping me set the ground work for Vanilla Ink, plant the seed, that vanilla derives from!! Vanilla Ink is edging closer and closer to it’s end goals and it’s getting more and more exciting. To be able to picture the kind of people that will be gracing Vanilla Ink’s presence makes it feel oh so real.

Exciting (and challenging) times ahead…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 4:33 pm

    Hi Kate,
    You’re doing fine in you’re new job!
    Just love coming to your classes and learning so much..just wish I was half decent at the silversmithing….not as easy as folk think!!Practise makes perfect..well maybe one day long time ahead!!

    You make everyone feel so relaxed and no pressure which is good!

    See you next Thurs.

  2. Jay permalink
    November 22, 2010 5:42 pm

    My day to day life as a junior doctor allows me little creativity ( if any!), and although I have always enjoyed photography I have been looking for a new creativre challenge to enjoy for a while.

    Having missed out on a place in the silver jewellery classes last time round, I am now in week 6 or 7 of a total of 20 weeks of Kate’s tuition.

    The principal behind the pieces I am now trying to produce is giving something personal and thoughtful back to the most important people in my life. I started this process back in June when I hired a jeweller (Jen Cunningham) to create personal cufflinks for my boyfriend’s graduation. The end result was exactly what I wanted and something which said so much more than a shop bought gift. My mother has also passed on pieces of jewellery to me that my grandfather bought my grandmother during their time in Malta in the war, and I suppose these things have combined so I wanted to try and make my own pieces, however imperfect, which will sit in the bottom of loved one’s drawers and jewellery boxes and be picked out to wear for years to come.

    Kate’s classes allow me enough direction and tuition whilst also always giving us time to work on our own pieces. I have been able to create copper pendants for friends in far places and salvaged a ring for myself after melting my first one! We learn different techniques and, soldering aside, most of us have managed most of them..! It is a pleasure to come each week, to the extent that I have invested in my own tools and materials and am working on pieces in my own time.

    Your classes are relaxed, fun, and allow us each to achieve what we set out to. I hope you enjoy them as much as I know I do.. :)

  3. November 22, 2010 10:14 pm

    Thank you both for you’re encouraging words!

    I am loving teaching the classes, like I said it’s a learning curve but I’ve loved every class! You guys are teaching me too.

    I’m so glad the classes have inspired you to take it further Jay…just try not to spend too much time in there on your own…you’ll go a bit mental. As for Jen Cunningham…she’s my buddy! I graduated with her and she’s a doll! Glad you’re commissioning local jewellers :)

    See you next class folks!

Leave a Reply

