Skip to content

DOJ degree show (well…mainly jewellery)

May 31, 2011

Last week saw the return of Duncan of Jordanstone degree show. I’m not sure I agree with many people’s statements saying that it is the best degree show in the past three years…but it was still a pretty damn good show!

 

I did take a look round the whole show (on three separate days) and there are a few parts that I rush through but being biast, my attentions were mainly drawn to the jewellery degree show.

 

Being in a different location it provided more excitement over what to expect. Having spent six years in the art college I still got a little confused trying to find it but once I did I’m sure the words “wow” came out of my mouth. The space was pretty huge and consisted of three rooms that flowed from one to the next, housing the super talented students. There was also a pop-up shop where you could buy the students work, a first for the jewellery degree show.

 

What was inside was a high caliber of work! What I found amazing was the fact that when I was Designer in Residence in the jewellery department, I got to work with the then 3rd year jewellers. I began to see the start of degree show thinking and I saw the developments of each jeweller and not to sound cheesy, but for the small time that I spent with them I felt proud (gush).

 

These are just a few of the many jewellers that exhibited at this years degree show and if you didn’t get a chance to see it then you missed out!

 

Kerrianne Flett:

Now Kerrianne blew me away! Kerrianne was actually someone that wasn’t so sure of the direction she was going in third year and I was always looking forward to seeing what she was going to produce!

 

Kerrianne used concept of time. She used sand as a timer to the design process and with the sand she took castings and used it as her raw material in her outcomes. I love the whole concept behind Kerrianne’s work and the outcome was beautiful!

p.s I want one of your rings!! The one in the shoppee was too big :(

 

Jessica Howarth:

Without having her name beside her work I knew that this was Jess. Her clever little enameled sculptures played a part in the jewellery and hidden in the roof, or in the slats was a neclace, or a ring, or a pair of earrings. I just loved the fact that each piece acted as a display and that parts of it could be worn.

 

Laura Cowan:

Laura I can relate to. Her work is a narration of a relationship she once had. Taking words and phrases that was said to her and translating it into her work. What means more, the words or the physical attributes?

 

These are just a few of the super talented jewellers that were on show (many of which I forgot I had my camera and never got any shots)! But they all did a fantastic job at making the degree show simply stunning! You can find a list and details of most of the jewellers here.

 

Below is a few snaps of other people’s degree show, because apparently it wasn’t just about the amazing jewellery…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now onwards to all the Scottish Degree shows and New Designers! Can’t wait!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

